Homemade Quark

For those of you reading my blog regularly you’ll know that I was really struggling to find quark in New Zealand. When I finally tracked some down I bought it immediately. Not taking into account the $11 price tag nor the 19% fat content (which I didn’t notice until eating half the tub.)

There was only one thing for it. To make it myself. I searched the internet, read through recipes, made a trip to the shops and set to work.

What you will need:

Cheesecloth. I went to our local fabric store (spotlight) and asked for muslin and was pointed in the right direction. It’s that same cloth that mother’s drape over their shoulders to avoid baby sick!!

Large preserving jar. I picked this up at spotlight as well.

Sieve

Large bowl

60g buttermilk

1 litre of milk – Use full fat milk for a creamier cheese but for us Dukan Dieters I used super trim milk and it worked fine

Step One:

Pour the 60g of buttermilk and one litre of milk into the jar. Put the lid on and leave sitting at room temperature for two days.

Step two:

The mixture will have seperated and you will see a thin layer of yellowish green liquid floating on top. This is the whey.

Pop the jar in the oven (I found this the best method) on a very low heat – about 40 degrees. You should be able to grasp the jar with no problems. Leave in the oven for about an hour and a half to two hours.

Step Three:

Fold your cheesecloth over about 4 times and line your sieve with it. Your seive should be positioned over a large bowl, mine wasn’t big enough as the sieve ended up touching the liquid whey in the bowl below.

Remove the jar from the oven and pour contents into your lined sieve.

I wrapped the cloth over the top of the mixture to keep it covered as it drained.

Allow to drain for 2-4 hours. I left mine over night as it was getting late and it was fine

Step Four:

Once the curds and whey have separated to the consistency you want, pour the whey into the preserving jar and save for further recipes (I’m planning to use mine for ricotta – will keep you posted!)

Transfer the curds into a container and voila, homemade super low fat quark!

About Claire

https://kaniduthedukan.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Quark

  1. gentlemonkey says:

    Wow! Thanks so much for the photos Claire, I might give it a go when I’m on holidays 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cruise Day 16 – PV | Kan I Du the Dukan?

Leave a Reply

