Attack Phase: Day 4

Not such a hungry day today thank goodness (probably because I ate more!) and lots of imaginative food ideas made for a better day overall. I am loving the oatbran and last night after I posted I ate 3 tsp of oatbran straight. Thought it might help with, uh, moving things along a bit. It did, this morning I woke up with my stomach cramping something chronic and I had to make an immediate rush to the loo. Followed by two more trips all before 6am. Don’t think I’ll be eating oatbran straight off the spoon again!!

Today’s Food:

Breakast: 1 protein shake

Snack: last two oat bran cookies, glad they’re gone!!

Snack: Shaved low fat turkey

Lunch: Curried chicken and egg mix up – Yum, I’ll post this on my recipe page! Low fat yoghurt with 1tsp oat bran and couple of drops of caramel essence

Snack: small tin of tuna, couple spoonfuls of cottage cheese

Dinner: Seafood marinara mix sauteed in wholegrain mustard and garlic with half an onion (all dry fried)

Snack: Two mini quiches, made up the recipe this evening and they were amazing – won’t touch another oat bran cookie with these on the menu!

About Claire

https://kaniduthedukan.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Attack Phase and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Attack Phase: Day 4

  1. Jeanette says:

    Hi Claire
    I have been on Dukan now for 2 1/2 weeks. I had lost 3 1/3 kg by end of week 2 and I will weigh again on Saturday. I am trying not to weigh daily as I am the same as you. I weigh myself and get depressed if I have even put on 100 grams.

    Well just wanted to write to say “Keep going” and I am enjoying your blog.
    I am also short and I needed to lose 20 kg when I started. Dukan said 16 kg but I think I will feel happy at 20 which will put me at 53 when I am finished in a few months time.

    • Claire says:

      Great to hear from you Jeanette! Nice to know there is another shorty with the same goal as me out there. How long did you do the attack phase for? Congratualtions on the loss so far – do keep me updated on your progress!

  2. Joanna says:

    You mentioned eating oatbran to help with “moving things” 😉 What Dukan suggests is if you have problems in that area to swap one spoon of oat bran for wheat bran. Congrats on eating bran plain straight 😉 I can’t deal with it even in yoghurt – muffins & pancakes all the way 🙂

    • Claire says:

      Thanks Joanna, I bought wheatbran when I started but had forgotten about it actually so I’ll try to introduce it into my diet. I love the oatbran in the yoghurt! Makes me feel like it’s more of a meal and it goes quite mushy. Yum!

  3. gentlemonkey says:

    Hi Claire,
    Sounds like you’re going great guns for your Attack Phase. I can’t believe you’re not going to weigh yourself 😛 You are going to get a great surprise at the end of your attack!
    It’s really nice to see some new blogs popping up to see how others are going, and get some new ideas. I have added you on my blogroll at http://mydukandiary.wordpress.com/
    Lauren 🙂

    • Claire says:

      Thanks Lauren! I won’t lie, avoiding the scales has been tricky. they’re hidden away in a cupboard. I’m not even sure which one and I haven’t gone looking for them but it has been tempting. As I said to my fiance last night, part of me wonders if I was weighing myself and seeing a daily loss it would keep me motivated and be helpful but the other part of me knows that if I didn’t see a loss it would have the opposite effect. I’m actually feeling quite nervous about getting on them again because if I don’t see a loss I just won’t know where to go from here!

  4. Hi Claire!

    Glad you’re enjoying the menu a little more! One thing I would say is to be careful of your oatbran intake – try to limit yourself to 1.5 tbsp of oatbran per day – Attack is all about minimising carb intake at all costs, and oatbran is probably the most carb-heavy food allowed on the Dukan Diet.

    The general rule for amounts of oatbran is:

    1.5 Tbsp / day on attack
    2 Tbsp / day on cruise
    2.5 Tbsp / day on consolidation
    3 Tbsp / day on stabilization

    Good luck! 🙂

    Charlotte xx

    • Claire says:

      Haha I was wondering if someone would pick me up on my oatbran intake! You’re right, I’ve been a little naughty. Thought I would reduce my intake today and only have a very little bit. Would that help counter previous transgressions or is the damage already done!?

      • Oh! one more thing on getting things “moving” in your gut – on a low carb/low fat diet, there’s not actually much TO move! Most of what is eaten is actually taken in, there’s very little waste product. I find that I don’t move more than once every 4-5 days these days – I’m not constipated, there’s just not enough there to squeeze out!!

        (apologies if that was tmi… 😉

      • Claire says:

        Stuff like that is always going to be TMI but it’s useful knowledge! And thanks for letting me know. I was a twice a day kind of girl so to have nothing happen for 2 days was a bit unusual. But now you say it, I wasn’t actually uncomfortable there was just nothing there! (Haha my turn for TMI!!!)

      • roflmao! 🙂

        Makes me think of that Tenacious D song, about “squeezing out a Cleveland Steamer”… *cringe*

  5. Hehe… the beauty of this diet – forget about yesterday, focus on today! Don’t eat less oatbran today to compensate for having a little over yesterday – just go back to following the diet. 🙂

    Keep it up sweetie!

Leave a Reply

